The main attractions in Agartala are Ujjayanta Palace, State Museum, Tribal Museum, Sukanta Academy, M.B.B. College, Laxminarayan Temple, Uma Maheswar Temple, Jagannath Temple, Benuban Bihar, Gedu Mian Mosque, Malanch Niwas, Rabindra Kanan, Purbasha, Handicrafts Designing Centre, Fourteen Goddess Temple, Portuguese Church etc.
This royal house, which stands in the Capital city Agartala covering one sq.Km. area was built by Maharaja Radha Kishore Manikya during 1899-1901.It is a two storied mansion, having a mixed type of architecture with three high domes, the central one being 86’ high. The magnificent tile floor, curved wooden ceiling and beautifully crafted doors are particularly notable. The palace is set with huge Mughal style gardens, beautified by pools and gardens and tiled floors. Flood lighting and fountains have also added to its beauty.
The magnificent tiles floors, ceiling of the Chinese room crafted by artisans brought from China, of the palace which now houses the State Legislative Assembly, may give some idea of the opulence and splendour of the original setting of the building. It has recently been adorned with a spectacular musical fountain at its foreyard.
A picturesque hillock that Maharaja Birendra Kishore Manikya Bahadur constructed ( 1909 -1923 ) as his country palace for private retreat, now serves as the Raj Bahavan, official residence of the Tripura Governor. Rabindra Nath Tagore stayed there in his seventh and last visit to the state.
Poet Rabindranath Tagore stayed in the eastern apartment of this palace during his 7th and last visit to the state in 1926. This palace was the mute witness to many of the great poet’s creations including a number of popular songs. There are well laid gardens and lawns inside the palace which is the official residence of the Governor of Tripura now. The southern side of the garden has been made open for the public and has been named as ‘Rabindra Kanan’
The Bungalow adjacent to Kunjaban palace situated on a hillock was originally a kaccha house where Tagore stayed during his visit in 1919. The pucca construction was subsequently built and given the name of Malancha Niwas.
170km away from Agartala. There is a profusion of rock-cut images, belonging to 11-12th century A.D., intricate and finely executed. This is as such, and open air art gallery .It is Shaiba pilgrimage and dates back to 7th – 9th centuries if not earlier. The marvelous rock carvings, murals with their primitive beauty, waterfalls are not to be missed. Unakoti means one less than a crore and it is said that these many rock cut carvings are available here. As per Hindu mythology, when Lord Shiva was going to Kashi along with one crore gods and goddesses he made a night halt at this location. He asked all the gods and goddesses to wake up before sun rise and proceed for Kashi. It is said that in the morning, except Shiva himself, no one else could get up so set out for Kashi himself cursing the others to become stone images as a result we have one less than a crore stone images and carvings at Unakoti.These carvings are located at a beautifully landscaped forest area with green vegetation all around which add to the beauty of the carvings.
The images found at Unakoti are of two types namely rock-carved figures and stone images. Among the rock cut carvings, the central Shiva head and gigantic Ganesha figures deserve special mention. The central Shiva head known as ‘Unakotiswara Kal Bhairava’ is about 30 feet high including an embroidered head-dress which itself is 10 feet high. On each side of the head-dress of the central Shiva, there are two full size female figures – one of Durga standing on a lion and another female figure on the other side. In addition three enormous images of Nandi Bull are found half buried in the ground. There are various other stone as well as rock cut images at Unakoti.
Every year a big fair popularly known as ‘Ashokastami Mela’ is held in the month of April which is visited by thousands of pilgrims.
Treasure house of Hindu and Buddhist Sculpture. It dates back to 8th and 9th centuries. Beautiful images scattered in an area of about 10 Sq.Km. have been found. The images, terracotta plaques and sealing found here reflect survival of heterodox creeds and sects representing both Hinduism and Buddhism. Colossal stone images of Avolokiteshwar and Narasimha have been found here.
A good number of gold coins, rock-cut inscription, seals of burn clay, images of Buddha obtained in excavation indicate the place had a close contact with Mainamoti, an ancient Buddhist center. Recently a colossal image of the Sun God has been unearthed from the site. The place no doubt, remains a place of historical interest for the generation after generation.
This temple is one of the 51 pithasthans in India as per Hindu mythology. As per mythology, Lord Vishnu had cut off the body of Mata Sati into 51 pieces by Sudarshana Chakra and all these pieces fell at different places throughout the country and these places are known as pithasthans. It is said that ‘right foot’ of Mata Sati fell at Matabari. One of the 51 pithas of Hindu pilgrims was built by Maharaja Dhanya Manikya in 1501 A.D. It consists of an squere type sanctum of the typical Bengali hut type. The lake in front of the temple added to it’s beauty. It is located 55km from Agartala.
This pithasthan is also known as Kurma Pith because the shape of the temple premises resembles to that of "Kurma" namely tortoise. Inside the temple, the idol of Maa Kali is kept which is made of ‘reddish black Kastic pathar.’ Maa Kali is worshipped in her ‘Soroshi’ form in this temple. There is an idol of smaller size of Maa Kali called ‘Chotto Maa ‘and this image used to be carried by Maharajas of Tripura during "Mrigaya" namely hunting and also during war.
In the eastern side of the temple there is a famous Kalyan Sagar where fishes and tortoises of huge size are found and devotees feed them with "muri" and biscuits. No fishing is permitted in the Kalyan Sagar.
The most exclusive thing here are the TORTOISE present in the lake in huge numbers specially worshipped by the local persons .You can feed them with food and if you are lucky then you can worship them when they are on the bank of the Saagar i.e. river.
Every year on Dewali, a famous Mela takes place near the temple which is visited by more than two lakhs pilgrims.
It is located about 14 Km. away from Agartala at a place called Old Agartala. In the face of continued fight with Shamser Gazi, Maharaja Krishna Manikya had shifted the capital from Udaipur to Old Agartala. It continued to be the capital till it was shifted to Agartala. Near the sacred 14 goddess temple during the month of July every year a Kharchi festival is organised and thousands of pilgrims and devotees visit this festival.
It is a local saying that one who visits Tripura Fourteen Goddess Temple once comes in Agartala fourteen times more .
It is a place, which has been a vital historical center for the outgoing century, to see what it tells us of its builders, their aspiration, achievements and their sense of values. You may discover a heritage, if all this does not interest you; choose this place as a summer resort. No problem at all.
This magnificent lake palace was constructed as a summer resort in 1930 by late Maharaja Birbikram Kishore Manikya Bahadur in the middle of a natural lake called Rudrasagar having an area of 5.35 Sq.Km. The construction was undertaken by Martin & Burn Co. and it is the only lake palace in the entire eastern India.
A good combination of Hindu and Mughal architecture is noticed on the domes of the palace. There are mainly two parts of the palace – one on the western side known as Andar Mahal which was used by the royal family and another on the eastern side which was used for the security personnel and servants. There are 15 rooms in the main Andar Mahal. There is a beautiful garden laid in the western side of the palace. In the garden there is an open stage where drama, theatre, etc. use to be organised.
Maharajas used to go by motor boat to the palace from Rajghat. There is a motor boat ghat inside the palace upto which the motor boat could go and there are two ,stairs at the motor boat ghat – one for Maharaja and one for Maharani.
There are two main parts of this palace, mainly the Andarmahal in western side and a block in the eastern side used by the security men and servants of the King, In the main building there are two parts which the King and Queen used whenever they visited the palace. At the Andarmahal, there has been a waiting room for the visitors and next to that dancing hall. All around the dancing hall there are five rooms – bathroom, leisure room, bedroom, treasury room and the room for playing chess in then western side, six more rooms are found which are reported to be used by the Queen and Royal kith and kins. The storeroom has been placed in the backside. In the middle of the two parts, there is a big room, which was used by the king and his royal friend and kinks as a meeting hall.
It is learnt that royal family could enter the Andarmahal by motor Boats. It seams at present all rooms are together, however, at that time glass doors covered by curtain separated them with each other. At present you find all the 15 rooms in the main Andarmahal in the west side there are also some rooms including a garden was actually open stage-cum- garden for open drama and theater. There are also three rooms including kitchen room and the toilet for the motor boatmen to rest. There was a big garden in the northern side of the palace.
After the entrance there was also one garden and inside this garden there did the guests use one room. In the east side there were also two rooms including then watch tower and bath ghat for the securities an servants. There are two more rooms this side out of which one was generator room.
Flood lighting of the palace has been arranged in the evening. In addition, water sports facilities are being extended. The palace is going to be renovated and a museum depicting the royal life style will be set up inside the palace. In addition Light & Sound show on the historical past and cultural heritage of Tripura will be organised in the palace. In water number of migratory birds are found in the lake surrounding Neermahal.
Situated at a distance of 35km and 45km from Sepahijola and Agartala respectively. City had been built by the King Uday Manikya and it was named as Rangamati earlier. The city has been famous for it ’s lake and temple. The town had many temples at the earlier times; today many of them has been destroyed or ruined.
The permanent seat of eternal spring is situated at an altitude of 3000’ above sea level. Jampui is famous for its charming landscape and bracing climate. The excellent climatic condition, green forests, beautiful orange garden, view of raising and setting sun are wonderful sight for tourists.
The erstwhile princely State of Tripura claims a prominent place in North East India for her exquisite natural beauty spots punctuated with lush green sylvan treasure. The luxuriant forests of ‘Jampui Hill’, the premier one among the 6 principal hill ranges of Tripura provides a lifetime’s exhilarating experience for the tourists.
Jampui Hill’ – ‘the permanent seat of spring’ is situated at an altitude of about 3000 ft above the sea level and about 250 Km away from Agartala, the capital of Tripura. In the eastern side of the hill range lays Mizoram and in the southern part lays Chittagong hill tracts of Bangladesh. Jampui is famous for its charming landscape and bracing climate. The hill range consists of cluster of tribal villages and is the home for colorful Lusai and Reang tribal communities.
The excellent climatic condition, green forests, beautiful orange garden on the both side of hill slopes, variety of floral tapestry including a large range of enchanting orchids, panoramic view points, adventures awe-inspiring trek routes, placid lakes with boating facility, hospitable Mizo population and meditative tranquility of nature makes it an ideal destination for which any tourist would yearn for. The neat and clean traditional wooden houses of the local inhabitants combined with greenery all around provide excellent opportunities for eco-friendly tourism in this hill range
The hill range has 11 villages inhabited by Mizo (Lushai tribes) and also by Reang tribes .The Lushai tribes mainly inhabited in the hill range have a very strikingly distinct cultural identity.
The sun rise and sun set in the hill range is a delight worth seeing. The natural beauty, the pleasant weather, various species of trees, orchids and orange gardens, hospitable people and rich cultural heritage makes it an ideal destination for the tourists.
There is an ‘Eden’ Tourist Lodge in Vangmun village where tourists can go and stay comfortablyAfter withdrawal of Restricted Area Permit for the foreign nationals, the hill range is attracting a large number of foreign tourists. The highest peak of Tripura ‘Betalongchhip’ falls in this hill range which is 3600 feet high and from where tourist can see the panoramic view of Mizoram, Chittagong hill tracts and various other hill ranges of Tripura. There are good trekking routes in the hill range for tourists. State Government is planning to develop village tourism in Jampui hill and sports complex and cultural complex will be constructed shortly.
On the right bank of river Gomati at Udaipur is found the ruins of a big palace built by Maharaja Govinda Manikya (1660-75 A.D.). The Bhuveneswari temple is situated adjacent to this palace. It finds close literary reference in Great poet Rabindranath Tagore’s novels and drama namely ‘Bisharjan’ and ‘Rajarshi’
Sepahijala is covering an area of 18.532 km. More than 150 species of residential birds, migratory birds, orchid garden, boating facilities, wild life, botanical garden, zoo, elephant joy-rides, rubber and coffee plantation attracts the visitors. The famous spectacled monkey is found here.
For possession of which endangered wild species the state boast of that spectacle Monkey or Chasma Badar is only found in this sanctuary. The sanctuary that houses a zoo, recreation ground, and botanical garden enriched with a verity of flora, orchid house etc is about 30km away from Agartala. It covering an area of 18.53 Sq. km is a natural habitant for 53 species of carnivores, herbivorous and reptiles. In winter Sipahijala Lake wears a fabulous look with floating flocks of local and migratory birds including moorhen, water cork, cranes, whistling teal etc. beyond this, a ride on elephant back, a ride on a toy train and boating will make one spending a splendid weekend.
Wild Life Sanctuary is located at about 100 Km. away from Agartala in Belonia Subdivision of South Tripura District. Bison is the main attraction in this sanctuary, in addition to the resident and migratory birds
Situated at a distance of 18km from Belonia. The jungle is spread over a sprawling area of 190.7sqkm. The specialty of this jungle is different species of monkeys.